Mark Smith

UCP Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin challenger Rick Wilson elected

UCP challenger in Leduc-Beaumont Brad Rutherford also elected


Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin’s neighbour to the north, Leduc-Beaumont, will also be flying the UCP blue as challenger Brad Rutherford has been declared elected by Canadian Press.

Rutherford unseated NDP incumbent Shaye Anderson, one of Rachel Notley’s cabinet ministers.


The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer has been notified by the Canadian Press that CP has called Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin challenger Rick Wilson elected.

Wilson was challenging NDP incumbent Bruce Hinkley.


The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer has been notified by the Canadian Press that CP has called Drayton Valley-Devon UCP incumbent Mark Smith elected.

Smith jumped out to an early lead after polls closed and never looked back. He had substantially more votes than all of his competitors combined.

Smith, on Facebook a few minutes after learning he was elected: “Wow. I’m humbled and so excited! More to say later but for now….thank you.”


Polls have begun reporting for the constituency of Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin. With 13 of 69 polls reporting, UCP challenger Rick Wilson is ahead with 1,295 votes compared with NDP incumbent Bruce Hinkley’s 631.

In Drayton-Devon with 26 polls reporting, UCP incumbent Mark Smith has a comfortable lead with 2,515 votes compared with the next closest challenger, NDP, with 474.


Albertans have cast their ballots, the polls are closed on Apr. 16 and results are slowly starting to come in.

Elections Alberta is tabulating results in real time and The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer will report them here as soon as they come in.

As of 8:48 p.m., no polls for Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin have reported yet.

At the same time, Drayton-Devon UCP incumbent Mark Smith is seeing a huge lead over his opponents. Smith has 964 votes, while his next closest competitor has 187.

More results soon.

Just Posted

County of Wetaskiwin hears up to $500k damage from rain

Director of Public Works says roads in Div. 6, 7 take a beating

County of Wetaskiwin approves liquidation of grader

Caterpillar 160M with 9,000 hours on it to be sold

County of Wetaskiwin awards gravel supply contract July 23

Three bids on contract, Hopkins Construction gets it on 6-1 vote

Alberta separation discussed again

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau isn’t helping matters any

City of Wetaskiwin selects intersection changes

Changes to Hwy. #13 and #814 estimated at $325,000

VIDEO: Title of 25th Bond movie is ‘No Time to Die’

The film is set to be released in April 2020

RCMP and fire departments respond to possible drowning on Sylvan Lake

RCMP say they are actively searching for a man in his 20s with boats on the lake

New study suggests autism overdiagnosed: Canadian expert

Laurent Mottron: ‘Autistic people we test now are less and less different than typical people’

Trans Mountain gives contractors 30 days to get workers, supplies ready for pipeline

Crown corporation believes the expansion project could be in service by mid-2022

New ‘Matrix’ film set with Keanu Reeves and Lana Wachowski

Fourth installment to feature Reeves as Neo and Carrie-Anne Moss as Trinity

Ethics commissioner ready to testify on Trudeau, SNC-Lavalin: NDP critic

A new poll suggests the report hasn’t so far hurt the Liberals’ chances of re-election this fall

Inflation hits Bank of Canada 2% target for second straight month

Prices showed strength in other areas, including an 18.9 per cent increase in the cost of fresh vegetables

Alberta oil curtailment rules extended to late 2020 as pipeline delays drag on

At issue is ability to export oil in face of regulatory and legal challenges against pipelines

Most Read