File photo

File photo

City of Wetaskiwin nominations closed for Municipal Election

Four candidates are running for mayor, and 15 candidates are running as councillors this election.

The period for nominations and withdrawals to run in the City of Wetaskiwin municipal election has ended and an official list of candidates has been confirmed.

The 2021 City of Wetaskiwin municipal election will be held on Monday Oct. 18, 2021, with voting taking place at both the Wetaskiwin Drill Hall and Memorial Arts Centre from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The candidates running for councillor positions include:

• Karen Aberle;

• Dean Billingsley (incumbent);

• Gabrielle Blatz (incumbent);

• Mike Cifarelli;

• James Commet;

• Bill Elliot;

• Myrna (MJ) Fontaine;

• Jessi Hanks;

• Magpie Ilkiw;

• Kevin Lonsdale (incumbent);

• Roderick Mackenzie;

• Ronald Mildenberger;

• Wayne Neilson (incumbent);

• Amanda Rule;

• Colleen Thiessen; and

• Steven Venardos.

The candidates running to be the Mayor of the City of Wetaskiwin include:

• Joe Branco (incumbent city councillor);

• Tyler Gandam (incumbent city mayor);

• Craig Haavaldsen; and

• Jenn Moriartey.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter