On July 13, Wetaskiwin City Hall and the Public Works office re-opened to the public.

On July 13, Wetaskiwin City Hall and the Public Works office re-opened to the public.

City of Wetaskiwin 2021 property taxes due June 30

The deadline for City of Wetaskiwin residents to pay their 2021 property taxes without penalty is this Wednesday, June 30.

Property tax notices for the 2021 year have been mailed to all City of Wetaskiwin property owners. To avoid penalties being applied to your account, property tax payments are due June 30, 2021, notesAlan Harris, General Manager of Corporate Services for the City of Wetaskiwin.

If you have not yet received your notice, contact City Hall at 780-361-4400 or by email to reception@wetaskiwin.ca.

Penalties for late payments

Non-payment of mandated property taxes directly impacts the delivery of municipal services. The City’s Tax Rate Bylaw 1958-20 outlines a fee schedule for late property tax payments. Late payment penalties will be applied to accounts with an outstanding balance as follows:

  • July 1, 2021 – 9 per cent of any unpaid current tax levy
  • Oct. 1, 2021 – 6 per cent of any unpaid current tax levy
  • Jan. 1, 2022 – 15 per cent of any unpaid tax balance

Choose from a variety of payment options

A number of options are available for paying municipal property taxes – pay by cash, cheque, Interac, or by making a payment at any local financial institution.

Please note that credit cards are not accepted for property tax payments at this time.

In addition, property owners whose accounts are in good standing may apply for the pre-authorized tax payment plan, which allows owners to pay their property taxes directly to the City in monthly instalments from January until December without incurring late payment penalties. Payments are automatically withdrawn from your bank account on either the 1st or the 15th of each month.

For more information about payment options, contact the taxation department at Wetaskiwin City Hall at 780-361-4400.

Seniors Property Tax Deferral Program

The Seniors Property Tax Deferral Program allows eligible senior homeowners to defer all or part of their property taxes through a low-interest home equity loan with the Alberta government.

Only residential properties are eligible, and the home must be the individual’s primary residence. To learn more, visit wetaskiwin.ca/taxdeferral.