Screengrab/ County of Wetaskiwin

Screengrab/ County of Wetaskiwin

Nominations closed for County of Wetaskiwin Municipal Election

Four Division councillors appointed by acclamation; three Division elections to take place Oct. 18.

Nominations for the County of Wetaskiwin Municipal Election came to a close on Sept. 20, 2021—leaving four divisions set for elections on Monday Oct. 18, 2021.

Advanced voting stations will be at the County of Wetaskiwin Administration Office, the Falun Community Centre, and the Buck Lake Community Hall from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. on October 2.

Each Division’s representatives will be elected to serve a four-year term.

Division 1, Division 3, Division 4, and Division 5 will not have elections as the representatives ran without competition and hence were appointed by acclamation.

All four of the Division representatives appointed by acclamation are incumbent County Council members:

• Division 1—Bill Krahn;

• Division 2—Dale Woitt;

• Division 4—Josh Bishop;

• Division 5—Ken Adair.

There will be elections in Division 2, Division 6, and Division 7.

Candidates for Division 2 include:

• Lynn Marie Carwell;

• And Terry Van de Kraats (incumbent).

Candidates for Division 6 include:

• Ron Baumann;

• Rodney Heeney;

• And Kathy Rooyakkers (incumbent).

Candidates for Division 7 include:

• Chad Baumann;

• And Lyle Seely (incumbent).

For voting, all electors will be required to show identification which contains proof of identity and current residence.

Special mail in ballots will be available to eligible voters who are unable to make it to the advance vote or election day polling station because of physical disability, absence from the local jurisdiction, or being a returning officer, deputy returning officer, substitute returning officer, constable, candidate, official agent or scrutineer who may be located on election day at a voting station other than that for the elector’s place of residence.

The county is accepting special ballot applications until October 1, and all special ballots must be returned to the County of Wetaskiwin office by 8:00 p.m. on October 18.