File photo

File photo

Unofficial municipal election results for the County of Wetaskiwin are in

The votes have been counted and the unofficial municipal election results for the County of Wetaskiwin are in.

The results will become official on Friday Oct. 22, 2021 at noon.

Division 1—Bill Krahn (incumbent) appointed by acclamation.

Division 2—Terry Van de Kraats (incumbent) received 255 votes, Lynn Marie Carwell received 277. Unofficially Carwell will replace Van de Kraats on County Council as the representative for Division 2.

Division 3—Dale Woitt (incumbent) appointed by acclamation.

Division 4—Josh Bishop (incumbent) appointed by acclamation.

Division 5—Ken Adair (incumbent) appointed by acclamation.

Division 6—Kathy Rooyakkers will reprise her role on council after receiving 248 votes. Ron Baumann received 182 votes and Rodney Heeney received 35 votes.

Division 7—Incumbent County Councillor Lyle Seely holds onto his council spot by a small margin, coming in at 257 votes, three votes ahead of Chad Baumann who received 254 votes.

“It is an honour to have another 4 years to serve the residents of division 6 and all of County of Wetaskiwin,” says councillor re-elect Kathy Rooyakkers. I learned so much from the residents while door knocking. It is important that Council continues to hear what they are doing right and what needs to improve on.”

“I’m always open to listen to resident’s concerns and help where I can. I’m ready to move forward and work with council.”

Key points that Rooyakkers looks forward to focussing on in this term is the County Hamlet revitalization plan, county road improvements and ensuring county bylaws and policies are in place to feed growth in residential and new commercial businesses.

The County of Wetaskiwin reported a total of 1,514 votes cast, with only 11 being spoiled or rejected ballots.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter