City of Wetaskiwin 2019 by-election coverage response

Six candidates respond to invitation from Pipestone Flyer

The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer recently offered editorial space for candidates running in the 2019 City of Wetaskiwin council by-election scheduled for Sept. 11.

Candidates registered for the by-election include Amanda Rule, Angela Greenidge, Byron King, Gabrielle Blatz-Morgan, Hazen Evenson, Joseph Branco, Lawrence Semeniuk, Mark McFaul, Phil Houle-Gregg, Sandra Kim and Steven Venardos.

The notice was printed in the newspaper, displayed on our website and issued on social media. Candidates were asked to describe their campaign platform, tell a bit about themselves and to limit their articles to about 400 words. Candidates were also invited to send in a photo of themselves.

Responses to The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer’s offer are printed on this and the following page.

Remember, the Wetaskiwin and District Chamber of Commerce has organized an all-candidates forum on Sept. 4 at the Best Western Inn meeting room. The forum doors open at 5:30 p.m. and the event runs from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

With 11 candidates running in the by-election, the question and answer period could get lengthy, so the Chamber is asking voters to send their questions in early.

Check out the Chamber’s question form at