(File photo)

(File photo)

City of Wetaskiwin releases official by-election results

Municipal byelection for a new councillor was held on Aug. 15

The results of the City of Wetaskiwin’s recent byelection are now official.

Wetaskiwin voters have elected Joseph Branco into office as councillor.

The official election results for each candidate are Joseph Branco (589 votes), Wendy Hoyle (320 votes), Ather Qurashi (173 votes), David Jaburek (163 votes), Kaila Commet (64 votes), and Damion Jones (nine votes).

Voter turnout for the by-election was 1,327, about 14 percent of Wetaskiwin’s eligible voters.

According to the Local Authorities Election Act (Section 97.2), the byelection results become official four days after the date of the election.

The next general municipal election will be in October 2025, at which point all positions on City Council are up for election again.

Any inquiries regarding the City’s municipal byelection can be directed to the Returning Officer Ahsan Ahmed at elections@wetaskiwin.ca.