(File photo)

City releases unofficial byelection results

A municipal byelection for a new councillor was held Aug. 15

Wetaskiwin voters have voted Joseph Branco into office as City councillor.

The byelection fills the seat left vacant following Kevin Lonsdale’s resignation from council earlier this year.

The total unofficial election results for each candidate are as follows: Joseph Branco (589 votes), Wendy Hoyle (320), Ather Qurashi (173), David Jaburek (163), Kaila Commet (64), and Damion Jones (nine votes).

Voter turnout for the by-election was 1,327 — about 14 per cent of Wetaskiwin’s eligible voters.

The City will publish the official election results on Aug. 21.

Branco will be sworn into office during the regular council meeting on Aug. 28.

The meeting will be held in council chambers at Wetaskiwin City Hall and the public is welcome to attend or watch via live stream.

The next general municipal election will be in October 2025.