Edmonton International Raceway awards held Nov. 2

EIR awards night theme was “Here Comes the Rain Again, Dress Appropriately!”

Edmonton International Raceway held its annual awards night in Wetaskiwin recently.

The EIR Banquet was held at the Moose Lodge in Wetaskiwin. Other exciting announcements included the date for the NASCAR LUXXUR 300 on Saturday, July 25th 2020 plus EIR will schedule two major “Hit to Pass” events for 2020 along with a major drifting event

2019 champions

Evolution Racing Mini Cup champion

#12 Rylyn Malone – Red Deer

Rookie of the Year – #8 Connor Skolarchuk – Edmonton

Baby Grand Champion

#77 Faith Luther – Wetaskiwin

Rookie of the year – #23 Maylee Wilkie – Bashaw

Future stock champion and Rookie of the year

#74 Chase Guidolin – Calgary

NASCAR Thunder car champion

#08 Don Lawrence – Fort Saskatchewan

Rookie of the year – #9 Cam Burk and #56 Josh Gitzel

NASCAR Features stock champion

#13 – Cam Burk – Edmonton

Rookie of the year – #95 Alex Clark – Wainwright

NASCAR Super truck champion

#18 – Art Eilander – Calmar

Rookie of the year – #43 Pat Gibeault

NASCAR Modified champion

#88 – Roy Wigley – Calgary

Rookie of the year – #11 Craig Keller

NASCAR Super stock champion

#96 – Erica Thiering – Sherwood Park

Rookie of the year – #2 Mike Ramm and #11 Candice Pahl

NASCAR Super late model champion

#11 – Bill Royce – Red Deer

IMCA Modified champion

#12 Chad Malone – Red Deer

Rookie of the year – #10 Taylor Krause

Special Recognition awards

Volunteer of the Year – 2019

Heidi Dyck, Steven Forth, Kerri Harris and Donald Bootsma

EIR Recognition of Winning Athlete of the Year for Alberta’s Special Olympics

The McTavish family

Friend of EIR and IMCA Racing

Bill Royce, Grant Brown, Tony Lambert

Friends of EIR and Super Late Model Racing


Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

UPDATE Human remains found in Manny’s Motel ruins

UPDATE RCMP Major Crimes Unit Investigate Fatal Fire in Wetaskiwin

Wetaskiwin Legion ‘Branch Briefings’

Branch #86 is planning its 90th anniversary

Feed replacement cost, precipitation threshold and more tweaked by AFSC

AFSC announces enhancements to perennial crop insurance programs

Road allowance closure goes to prov govt

Encroaching house situation could set ‘precedent’

County of Wetaskiwin council approves water rate hike of 3 per cent

Councilors balk at proposed rate increase of 4 per cent

Officials reaching out to those in contact with Canada’s first coronavirus patient

The illness has sickened at least 1,975 people and killed 56 in China

‘Presumptive case’ of coronavirus in Canada confirmed by Ontario doctors

Man in his 50s felt ill on his return to Canada from Wuhan, China

‘My heart is going to bleed’: Bodies brought back to Canada following Iran plane crash

Remains of Sahar Haghjoo, 37, and her eight-year-old daughter, Elsa Jadidi, were identified last weekend

Alberta Urban Municipalities Association wants province to make tax changes

The Alberta Court of Appeal ruled last year that municipalities are unsecured creditors

Alberta woman charged with child abduction pleads guilty to lesser charge

Womann can’t be identified under a court-ordered publication ban

Canada slips in global corruption ranking in aftermath of SNC-Lavalin scandal

The country obtained a score of 77, which places it at the top in the Americas

Wuhan bans cars, Hong Kong closes schools as coronavirus spreads

Hong Kong leader Carrie Lam said her government will raise its response level to emergency, highest one

RCMP receive tip on Amber Tuccaro’s homicide file

Banff RCMP contacted by a male who alleged that his father may be responsible for a missing person

Here’s what Canada is doing to stop the coronavirus from getting in

Health officials are monitoring multiple possible cases in Canada

Most Read