Deanna Beck, Vision Credit Union

Leaders of Tomorrow kicks off Jan. 16

Nominations accepted for youth recognition until Feb. 22

A special youth organization kicked off its 25th year in Wetaskiwin Jan. 16.

Leaders of Tomorrow, which encourages and recognizes achievements from youth aged 8 to 21 years of age, held its annual kick-off ceremony at the Reynolds Alberta Museum.

Many of the sponsors of the program explained why they like it so much. Museum manager Noel Ratch welcomed everyone to the facility and said the museum was proud of its long support of the program.

Deanna Beck, representing Vision Credit Union, said it’s important to the credit union to support organizations that boost local youth.

City of Wetaskiwin mayor Tyler Gandam said the city likes to celebrate the leadership abilities of youth.

County of Wetaskiwin reeve Terry Van de Kraats said LOT does amazing work and the county is glad to recognize local youth.

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools trustee Leanne Axelsen said two priorities of the division are student success and achievement, and LOT meets these goals.

Manluk Industries representative Felix Fanta said he sees more second generation people apprenticing, meaning people are staying in Wetaskiwin and LOT is part of that.

Royal Canadian Legion Wetaskiwin Branch #86 president Ken Shubert and executive member Allan King stated the Legion supports local youth and likes to encourage our future community leaders to grow.

Town of Millet mayor Tony Wadsworth said he’s always impressed by the large number of youth nominated for LOT and the things they’ve accomplished.

Leaders of Tomorrow has recognized 690 local youth over the past 25 years. The program recognizes the volunteer efforts of youth from Wetaskiwin, Millet and the region.

Persons or organizations can nominate a youth in four different age categories: 8-11, 12-14, 15-17 and 18-21 years.

Nomination forms are available at City of Wetaskiwin FCSS office, County of Wetaskiwin office, Town of Millet office, WRPS central office and Sacred Heart School. You can also find the form online at the city’s website,

Major sponsors of LOT include Wetaskiwin Legion, Vision Credit Union, Reynolds Alberta Museum, City of Wetaskiwin FCSS, County of Wetaskiwin, WRPS, Manluk Industries and the Town of Millet. Media sponsor is The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer.

Deadline for nominations is Feb. 20, 2020.

Recipients will be presented with their awards at a ceremony at the Reynolds Alberta Museum Apr. 20.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here


Mayor Tyler Gandam

Reeve Terry Van de Kraats

Trustee Leanne Axelsen

Manluk Industry’s Felix Fanta

Wetaskiwin Legion representatives (from left) Allan King, Ken Shubert.

Mayor Tony Wadsworth

Just Posted

Leduc Man still missing, RCMP concerned for his well being

31-year-old Ryan Mcleod has been missing since Sept. 10, 2020.

160 new COVID-19 cases reported in Alberta on Tuesday

Province now has 1,571 active cases

CP Holiday Train cancelled this year; virtual concert to be held in lieu of event

Canadian Pacific will still donate to local food banks in its network and host a virtual concert.

Local author up for publishing award

Lori Gurnette is nominated for the Author Elite Awards in the fantasy category for her YA novel.

No safe mask option for bearded members, RCMP says, but force is exploring solutions

RCMP says respirator not mandatory in all front-line situations, but sometimes needed to reduce risk

First annual Best of Wetaskiwin Readers’ Choice Awards

Enter to win a $200 gift card for Canadian Tire.

Metis pilot Teara Fraser profiled in new DC Comics graphic novel of women heroes

The Canadian pilot’s entry is titled: ‘Teara Fraser: Helping Others Soar’

Sylvan Lake family says they are ‘blessed’ to have found their home in Central Alberta

Onsy and Rosemary Tawadrous immigrated to Canada in 2011 and made their home in Sylvan Lake

Tractor fire east of Ponoka doused

Flames extinguished with foam additive

Orange Shirt Day lessons of past in today’s classrooms

Phyllis Webstad, who attended St. Joseph’s Mission Residential School in British Columbia, is credited for creating the movement

Greens’ Furstenau fires at NDP, Liberals on pandemic recovery, sales tax promise

She also criticized the NDP economic recovery plan, arguing it abandons the tourism industry

U.S. Presidential Debate Takeaways: An acrid tone from the opening minute

Here are key takeaways from the first of three scheduled presidential debates before Election Day on Nov. 3

Most Read