Pipestone Flyer file photo

Pipestone Flyer file photo

County of Wetaskiwin makes changes to toxic waste round-up

The County has opted out of the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Toxic Round-up in 2021.

At the February 23, 2021 County Council meeting, County Council directed Administration to opt out of the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Toxic Round-up in 2021.

Council decided to opt out of this round-up as the provincial government is no longer subsidizing the cost for disposal of hazardous waste collected under the program. The lack of funding will triple the cost of the round up.

The County of Wetaskiwin says they remain committed to explore cost-effective opportunities to provide residents with recycling options.

Previously, the County held the round-up annually every June at Lakedell School and in the Town of Millet in conjunction with the Town.

The round-up received household hazardous waste such as solvents, household cleaners and batteries, engine cleaners, contaminated soil, paint without labels and oil.

Currently, the County’s nine transfer stations accept paint with the label, paint products and electronic waste. Recently, Alberta Recycling has expanded the household electronics collection program to accept small electronics including small appliances, audio-visual, telecom, power tools, video games and toys. This program is available at all County transfer stations.

The Peace Hills transfer site is the only site that currently accepts and receives oil, oil filters and containers. The County says they are exploring options in expanding oil collection to other sites.

County transfer station sites are not currently set up to receive hazardous waste. The Leduc Waste Management Facility and Ambleside EcoStation in South Edmonton will accept hazardous waste from outside residents. Charges will apply at these facilities.

County residents are also able to access the City of Wetaskiwin’s Recycling Centre for non-hazardous waste recycling.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter