County of Wetaskiwin has new reeve

Terry Van de Kraats named reeve after Kathy Rooyakkers steps back

The public face of the County of Wetaskiwin has changed, as a new reeve has been named as of Oct. 16.

At their annual organizational meeting, where councilors are assigned to various boards and commissions, Kathy Rooyakkers, Division 6 councilor, voiced interest in stepping down as reeve.

Speaking with The Pipestone Flyer Oct. 19 Rooyakkers said the position of reeve includes a hefty list of obligations and responsibilities and she felt it was time to step away and let another councilor take over.

At the meeting, Division 2 councilor Terry Van de Kraats was selected as reeve, with Division 4 councilor Josh Bishop selected as deputy reeve.

Rooyakkers said she plans to stay on as councilor as she enjoys serving the community and will give Van de Kraats and Bishop all the help advice they need.

Just Posted

Culture Days offers amazing variety Sept. 27 to 29

“Taste of Wetaskiwin” followed by “Connect 4”

Join Leduc singer/songwriter Julia Vos raising funds for youth shelter Fri to Sun

Mulhurst Bay’s singer/songwriter busking in Edmonton for Youth Emergency Shelter

Pipestone Creek Grouse Walk a success Aug. 24

Event hosts over 40 participants near Wetaskiwin

Beef barley soup with great cake idea for dessert

Zucchini Carrot Cake only takes about 40 mins in oven

Wetaskiwin Bantam Warriors get payback against Fort Mac

Wetaskiwin earns decisive 43 to 12 victory in week 2 action

VIDEO: Trudeau asks Canada to look to current, not past, actions on race

Liberal leader says he never spoke about the racist photo because he was embarrassed

Red Deer Rebels fall to Edmonton in home opener 4-2

Red Deer will play the second of a home and home on Sunday

Handgun crackdown, health spending and transit plans latest campaign promises

Friday was the end of a busy week on the campaign trail

Expert says acquittal of Alberta parents in boy’s death unlikely to set precedent

The Stephans testified they thought their son had croup and used herbal remedies to treat him

Air Canada forced girl, 12, to remove hijab: civil rights group

The San Francisco Bay Area office of the Council on American-Islamic Relations calling for change

Man from Winnipeg who was hiking alone found dead in Banff National Park

RCMP say the man was hiking alone on Mount Temple Thursday

Singh campaigns in Toronto, May in Winnipeg, as Liberal and Tory leaders pause

All parties expected to be back on the campaign trail Sunday

Possible Canadian cases of vaping illnesses being investigated: health officer

‘I think that will be really important to address the overall trend of youth vaping’

Area 51 events mostly peaceful; thousands in Nevada desert

Three more people were arrested Friday on the remote once-secret military base

Most Read