Wetaskiwin Leaders of Tomorrow youth awards kick-off

Nominations now open for Wetaskiwin youth leaders awards

A uniquely Wetaskiwin program that showcases the great youth in the region had it’s 2019 iteration kicked off in style Jan. 17.

Wetaskiwin’s 24th annual Leaders of Tomorrow Awards were kicked off at the Reynolds Alberta Museum and introduced by Wetaskiwin Boys and Girls Club spokesperson Justin Wieclaw.

Organizers stated they host the kick off to promote the value of recognizing youth leadership in volunteerism and to extend their thanks to the major sponsors and other community donors and contributors who believe in supporting the program year after year.

Major sponsors, who donated $1,000 or more in cash or in-kind, included Royal Canadian Legion Wetaskiwin Branch #86, Encompass Credit Union, Reynolds Alberta Museum, City of Wetaskiwin FCSS, County of Wetaskiwin, Wetaskiwin regional Public Schools, Manluk Industries, Town of Millet, St. Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic School Division, The Wetaskiwin Pipestone Flyer and The Wetaskiwin Times.

Sponsors each spoke a few words about the program and all agreed it’s a great way to highlight the work of local youth. Noel Ratch of the Reynolds Alberta Museum said, “We love Leaders of Tomorrow…it is always a good news story in a bad news world.”

It was noted nominations for the Leaders of Tomorrow awards are now open for any young volunteer between the ages of 8 and 21 for recognition of their leadership qualities in volunteer services in the Wetaskiwin region.

Categories include 8-11 years of age, 12-14 years of age, 15-17 years of age and 18-21 years of age.

Nomination forms are available at the City of Wetaskiwin FCSS office, County of Wetaskiwin office, Town of Millet, WRPS administration office and Sacred Heart School. Nominations can also be made (or printed off) online at www.wetaskiwin.ca.

Please note all nominations must be submitted by Thursday, Feb. 21 at 4:30 p.m. Questions about nominations can be forwarded to Lynn Croft at 780-352-6018.

The Leaders of Tomorrow awards will be presented on the evening of Apr. 8.


Just Posted

G3 Canada grain terminal at Wetaskiwin

Plenty of work going on at grain terminal site near Wetaskiwin

Media made gaffe with wrong photo: Pigeon Lake stakeholders

Photo of algae bloom with bacteria story created confusion, say community leaders

County of Wetaskiwin awards gravel supply contract July 23

Three bids on contract, Hopkins Construction gets it on 6-1 vote

UPDATE City of Wetaskiwin selects intersection changes

UPDATE Changes to Hwy. #13 and #814 require prov. approval

County of Wetaskiwin hears up to $500k damage from rain

Director of Public Works says roads in Div. 6, 7 take a beating

Trudeau vows to stand firm against ‘increasingly assertive’ China

China has accused Canada of meddling in its affairs

Black bear ruins Alberta barber’s day

It’s not always a good idea to leave the door open

Conan turns to the Property Brothers for tips on buying Greenland

Jonathan Scott suggests removing glaciers and mountains to bring in ‘more natural light’

Red Deer Rebels Training Camp begins Aug. 24

Rebels home opener will be on Sept. 21 against the Edmonton Oil Kings

UPDATED: Search continues for possible drowning on Sylvan Lake

Sylvan Lake RCMP and Fire Department continue their search for 20-something adult male

New study suggests autism overdiagnosed: Canadian expert

Laurent Mottron: ‘Autistic people we test now are less and less different than typical people’

Huawei executive’s defence team alleges Canadians were ‘agents’ of the FBI

eng’s arrest at Vancouver’s airport has sparked a diplomatic crisis between Canada and China

Trans Mountain gives contractors 30 days to get workers, supplies ready for pipeline

Crown corporation believes the expansion project could be in service by mid-2022

Most Read